extraordinary

It’s all about perspective. I love this post, because it gets to the heart of why we need to understand our kids, our special kids, and not push them into a mold because we think it’s “easier”. I can’t say it any better than this post does.

a diary of a mom

20131227-064918.jpg

 

My child is not typical.

Trying to force her to be something that she’s not doesn’t work.

Let’s play a game, shall we?

Hey, mom, you need to be autistic now.

What?

Don’t worry; we’ll show you how. We’re going to give you therapy to make you autistic.

But I’m not autistic.

Not really relevant.

But ..

We’re going to teach you to act autistic.

All.

The.

Time.

But ..

That’s not who I am.

Yeah, we know, but you’re going to have to get used to it.

But it’s NOT WHO I AM.

No, it’s not.

It hurts to be told that who you are is not okay.

That how you see the world is .. wrong.

That how you act is … wrong.

That how you express excitement, show fear, communicate joy, share sadness, and, and, and .. are wrong.

It is a life of No.

It is…

View original post 254 more words

One thought on “extraordinary

  1. Hey, Trish! I’m Lydia Wayman (Autistic Speaks; http://www.autisticspeaks.wordpress.com)– the young adult with autism who recently went through a major surgery. I received your card, which, by the way, is incredibly cute… the little arm chair made me smile… and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to reach out! The cards I received have been so important in helping me get better, which is proving to be a real journey for me. “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing to the glory that will be revealed in us.”– don’t ask me what reference it is, other than I know it’s in Romans 8, but that is to say that I know that my current struggles are TEMPORARY and that there is a long-term future of HOPE and LIFE waiting for me. Thank you for the part you’ve played in encouraging me to reach forward to that future! God bless! –Lydia (PS, find me on Facebook either at Lydia Wayman or Autistic Speaks)

Leave a Reply

